COMMON COUNCIL 4/24/2017

The Common Council of the City of Park Falls met in regular session in the council chambers of the Park Falls city hall at 5:00 PM on Monday, April 24, 2017. Mayor Daniel Leitl called the meeting to order and the following members were present:

Mayor:	Daniel Leitl
Aldermen:	Michael Bablick Chris Hoffman David Dryer Michael Mader Dennis Wartgow Ron Hogue Anthony Thier Ronald Schoch
City Attorney:	Scott Reinhard

The minutes of the previous Council meeting of 3/13/17 were approved as presented.

Mayor Leitl appointed the 2017 committees. Moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Hogue to confirm the mayor's appointments. Motion carried, 8-0.

Alderman Wartgow nominated Ronald Schoch for council president. There being no other nominations, it was moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Hogue to close nominations and cast to a unanimous ballot for Ronald Schoch. Motion carried, 8-0.

Moved by Alderman Mader and seconded by Alderman Dryer to designate the *Price County Review* as the city's official newspaper. Motion carried, 8-0.

Mayor Leitl appointed Scott Hilgart as City Forester and Weed Commissioner. Moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Thier to confirm the mayor's appointment. Motion carried, 8-0.

The minutes of the 3/23/17 Personnel Committee meeting were presented. Moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Mader to accept the Personnel Committee's recommendation to hire the following full-time student summer employees on the city crew for the 2017 season: Michelle Homann, Samuel Belanger, Justin Herbst, Bailee Scharp, Kevin Koski, Caleb Armstrong, Jared Mader; and to hire the following full-time student summer employees at the municipal pool for the 2017 season: Taylor Scanlon, Courtney Yanko, Danielle Morgan, Makayla Casey, Jenna Gustafson, Michelle Hecimovich; and to employ the following applicants on a casual part-time, as-needed basis only: Hailey BeBeau, Tess Richard, Joshua Thums, Ashley Casey, Emma Wallow, Jamie Palecek, Zachary Lehman, James Mineau, Jamie Wohlleben, Mallori Zoesch, Allison Michels, William Graf, Blake Richard, Annalee Wallow, Shea Mineau, Olivia Ocker. Motion carried, 8-0.

Alderman Wartgow presented the Finance Committee report. Moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Schoch to pay the bills in the amount of \$507,009.62. Motion carried, 8-0.

Alderman Thier presented the minutes of the 4/3/17 BPW meeting. Moved by Alderman Thier and seconded by Alderman Mader to approve the minutes as presented. Motion carried, 8-0. Mayor Leitl informed the Council that he had been in contact with Brennt from Mobilitie regarding installing a crumple zone around their proposed 120'pole.

Alderman Mader presented the Public Services Committee report.

Mayor Leitl appointed the following members to the 2017 Board of Review: Daniel Leitl, Ronald Schoch, Arla Homann, Ron Hogue, and Michael Mader. Moved by Alderman Wartgow and seconded by Alderman Hogue to confirm the mayor's appointments. Motion carried, 8-0. Mayor Leitl reported that the 2017 Board of Review is scheduled for 5/08/17 from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM.

City Attorney Reinhard presented his report.

Clerk-Treasurer Homann presented her report. Final comments from former Mayor Ratzlaff were presented. She also noted that the recycling program annual report and the expenditure restraint worksheet will be filed with the state by 4/30/17, and that she will be attending the Municipal Treasurer's Conference and the meeting of the League of Wisconsin Advisory Committee on Legislation this week.

Police Chief Straetz reported that town hall meetings entitled *Know More About Meth* will be held in Park Falls on 4/24/17, in Phillips on 5/1/17, and in Prentice on 5/8/17. He also announced that Sergeant Timothy Dane will retire on June 10, 2017.

Street and Water Superintendent Hilgart reported that the downtown project is on schedule and that road building will begin next week.

The meeting adjourned at 5:36 PM.

Arla J. Homann Clerk-Treasurer