ANNUAL ORGANIZATION MEETING 4/18/2023

The Common Council of the City of Park Falls met in regular session at 5:00 PM on Tuesday, April 18, 2023. Mayor Tara Tervort called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM and the following members were present:

Mayor:	Tara Tervort
Aldermen:	Terry Wilson Dixie Weidman Michael Mader Dennis Wartgow James Corbett Anthony Thier Dina Bukachek Dan Greenwood
City Attorney:	Bryce Schoenborn

City Administrator: Brentt Michalek

Also present: Michelle Smith, Bill Hoffman, Deb Hyde, Shannon Greenwood, Michael Durmeyer, Gary Wollerman, Marv Nevelier, Terry Wilson, Rachel Wilson, Steve Sitte Sr., Sean Tervort, Michael Bablick, Mike Weidman, Alex Tervort, Lexie Tervort, Zoe Tervort, Zane Tervort, Matthew Wilson, Christina Wilson, Elias Wilson, Ellie Wilson, Victoria Koch, and Tara Martinez

The following officials were sworn in at the meeting: Alders: Dan Greenwood, Terry Wilson, Dixie Weidman and Michael Mader. Mayor Tara Tervort was sworn in earlier in the day.

There was a motion by Alderman Mader and seconded by Alderman Corbett to adopt the agenda after removing item 6. Motion carried.

COMMUNICATIONS

Open Book will be taking place on April 24, 2023 and Board of Review will be occurring on May 1, 2023. Board of Review members need to be at city hall at 10 a.m. on the 1st of May. Alderman Bukachek mentioned that a residence on Saunders Avenue does not have a permit for the driveway they put in their yard.

PUBLIC COMMENT

No Public Comment.

ORGANIZATION

There was a nomination by Alderman Wartgow to nominate Alderman Mader to become Council President. After three calls and seeing no other nominations, Alderman Wartgow made a motion and seconded by Alderman Bukachek to close nominations and cast an unanimous vote for Alderman Mader for Council President. Motion carried. There was a recommendation by the Mayor to designate the Price County Review as the official newspaper and to designate Forward Bank as the official depository. The Mayor also appointed William Hoffman as the Weed Commissioner/City Forester. Mayor Tervort also made recommendations for the council committees. She also made a recommendation for the following individuals to serve on the plan commission: Michelle Scharp, Dixie Weidman and Michael Mader. The library appointments presented by the Mayor are as follows: Kate Dirrigle-Leitl, Wendy Rebne and Dina Bukachek. The Board of Review members that were recommended were Tara Tervort, Michelle Smith, Dennis Wartgow, Terry Wilson and Michael Mader. Dennis Wartgow was appointed to the Zoning Board of Appeals and Michael Mader was appointed to the Room Tax Commission, both by Mayor Tervort. Alderman Wartgow made a motion and seconded by Alderman Mader to approve all of the Mayor appointments. Motion carried.

COMMITTEE REPORTS:

Finance - Alderman Bukachek made a motion and seconded by Alderman Weidman to approve paying the bills in the amount of \$113,088.27. Motion carried, 8-0.

Personnel – There are interviews taking place for the vacant DPW position.

Board of Public Works –Resolution #23-005 to Adopt a Capital Improvement Plan for the Parks Department was presented to the Council. Alderman Wartgow made a motion to approve this resolution and Alderman Greenwood seconded it. Motion carried.

Public Services – Nothing to Report

ADMINISTRATOR REPORT

The basic design for the library is complete.

The meeting adjourned at 5:26 PM.

Michelle M. Smith Clerk and Treasurer